Shoulder decreases are hard, and other stories

I did it! I finished on time! In fact, I finished early enough to take my Surry Hills for her maiden outing this weekend. I don’t have photos of said outing because I was far too busy running late… which just goes to show that my timeliness is limited.

I did manage to take a (very poor) selfie this morning before work though, (which I was totally on time for… so two out of three).

DSC00599

I have very mixed feelings about this project. I love the yarn, which is really soft and it feels delightful when knitted up. However, I had some real trouble with the pattern, particularly the shoulder decreases. As written, the underarm seam would have been somewhere near my elbow, so I changed it as I went and shaped as I saw fit. This is the first time I’ve made any significant changes to a pattern (besides adding length or adding some sleeve decreases), which was pretty risky. Thankfully, I know what shape my arms are, have knitted some sleeves before (reluctantly…) and managed to get a pretty good fit. That said, I wouldn’t recommend this pattern to anyone who wasn’t confident in making changes on the fly.

To tide me over until Tuesday, I cast on a Chelsea Market Hat.

DSC00603

I am using possibly the most beautiful, squishy, warm and soft yarn I have ever laid my grubby little hands on. I love this wool so much, I have found myself washing my hands before knitting and I can’t bear to take it on the bus. It is Langdale Superwash Aran in Midnight from Eden Cottage Yarns.

I follow Eden Cottage Yarn on Instagram, where Victoria shows off all the yarn she hand dyes in her kitchen sink, which is why I decided to try this yarn in the first place. In fact, I love it so much that I decided to use one of hers for our next project too.

DSC00594

This is Titus DK in Plum, which is destined to become a French Cancan. The pattern calls for a silk/wool blend, so I splurged (and, ahem, it was quite the splurge) on this wool. I do not regret that decision for a second as I have spent the last few days just gently patting the skeins.

DSC00601

With the help of my excellent winding assistant, they are now all wound up and ready to go, as soon as September arrives. This is the only thing that makes the end of summer okay. Well, that and quince season of course.

Leave a Reply

