Happiness is…

Quinces. But also, knitting on the side of a Swedish lake at sunset…

DSC00586

DSC00587

I went camping last weekend, on the edge of a beautiful, quiet lake in the middle of southern Sweden. There isn’t much better than lazing on a warm rock, listening to the quiet lapping of the lake as you watch the sun go down. Except when you get to do all of that and also drink ginger beer.

DSC00581

(There is a good joke here about casting on and casting in (out? on? I don’t know fishing prepositions) but I just can’t find it. I’m so disappointed.)

I’m just showing off, really. I haven’t been camping since I was at school, which I hated with a hot, burning passion. Turns out camping in Sweden, without a class full of 15 year old boys is far, far superior. I highly recommend it, with the qualification that you’ll need mosquito spray. Frankly, if the mozzies had been any more numerous, we wouldn’t have been able to see the sunset.

Anyway, back to the point. I have got half of a Surry Hills cardigan knitted and lying around on spare needles.

DSC00592

I’m knitting it using a cotton/bamboo blend (because I am weirdly obsessed with bamboo yarns). It’s got a lovely drape to it, but is a bit splitty and very slippery on the needles. The cardigan has a really weird construction, where you half-knit everything and then join it all together. If I were going to do this again, I’d knit it from the top down and pick up the sleeves at the end. I’m not sure how the joining of the pieces will go, as the instructions are (as Melina noted) not very clear.

Thankfully, it seems to be coming together fairly quickly as summer is almost over, and any hope of wearing cotton/bamboo and going outside is rapidly fading. Will I get to wear this when I finish it? Or, like the Brandied Cherry, will it languish in my cupboard for 9 months?

2 thoughts on “Happiness is…

  1. I did feel a bit selfish in my last post about wanting to hog quince season all year round, I’m hoping with the end of it here, there’ll be quinces starting to appear on your side of the world. I’m also loving the red colour of your Surry Hills too!

  2. I was thinking about you and quinces the other day – turns out there are public quince trees around here where you can just go and pick your own. I expect I’ll see you next autumn?

Leave a Reply

