Emma and Melina’s Day of Fun!

Melina and I started this blog because we couldn’t talk about knitting in person any more. Gone were our chats over a hot chocolate, or while we watched first year students learn not to touch the steam baths. But, for the first time in over a year, we were reunited for a day of yarn, animals and scones. It was amazing, and I have a few photos to share.

We both wore our (completed!) Water Music shawls, but I forgot to get a photo… I also forgot to get a photo of the two of us. I was too excited about wool.

We started off with tea and scones – because we’re classy ladies, then headed straight for our favourite, most wallet-endangering place we know. Morris and Sons yarn shop on Collins St. This place is just beautiful, I mean, just look at the colours!

image

We were there on a mission though, and picked the colours for our next project, the Victory hat.

image

Here they are, modelled by Melina and her Water Music.

This was not our last trip to Morris and Sons… In fact, I would estimate that at least 25% of my suitcase was wool on my trip back. But, we left for now and headed for the cat cafe.

For those not in the know, cat cafes are the brilliant combination of coffee and cats. You pay a small fee and are allowed to sit in a sunny room and pat all the rescue cats you can.

image

Sadly, the cats were pretty sick of people by the time we got there, and they just wanted to lie in the sun. Can’t blame them, really.

image

From there, a quick stop at the Queen Vic Market to buy tea and lunch (and for me to look longingly at cheese), then to the Show!

I wasn’t allowed to go to the show as a kid, and was under the impression that the show was entirely crowds and sadness. No one ever told me that they have WOOL DAY!

image

From there, we wandered from animal pavilion to animal pavilion and Melina made friends with as many species as possible.

image

image

image

(Not pictured: goats, fluffy cows, horses, chickens, cats, dogs etc…)

We also stopped by the craft pavilion to give our highly “experienced”, “knowledgeable” and completely “unbiased” opinions on the fibre crafts. We did like (and by “we”, I mean “me”) this crocheted dragon and I’ve almost convinced Melina that we should make one for our project next year…

image

All in all, an excellent day and I’m very grateful to Melina for organising it so perfectly.

I have since returned to Denmark with four knitting projects on the go. But that is a topic for the next post. In the mean time, I will leave you with a picture of the perfect tea set…

image

 

Note: edited by request.

One thought on “Emma and Melina’s Day of Fun!

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed our day of fun, it was an absolute blast hanging out again! However, I feel the need to clarify that I am totally on board for a crocheted dragon next year, just maybe one not so large…

Leave a Reply

